

Honouring courageous journalism

Four inspiring journalists from Cameroon, Mexico, Thailand, and Yemen, will be honoured with the Committee to Protect Journalists' 2017 International Press Freedom Awards, an annual recognition of courageous journalism.



© raw pixe via 123RF

The awardees have covered the news at great risk, including retribution from political leaders, and two have had to flee their homes because of death threats.

One of the awardees has been in prison for over three years for reporting on attacks carried out by an extremist group; another was detained twice by military officials and charged with sedition.

Award Winners include: <u>Ahmed Abba</u>, a correspondent for Radio France Internationale's Hausa service imprisoned in Cameroon; <u>Patricia Mayorga</u>, a correspondent for the Mexico City-based newsmagazine *Proceso*; <u>Pravit Rojanaphruk</u>, a critical reporter and press freedom advocate in Thailand; and <u>Afrah Nasser</u>, a Yemeni independent reporter and blogger who lives in exile.

CPJ will also present broadcast journalist <u>Judy Woodruff</u>, the managing editor of *PBS NewsHour*, with the <u>Gwen Ifill Press</u> <u>Freedom Award</u> for her work in advancing press freedom and strengthening the role of women journalists worldwide.

CPJ presents the Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award annually to an individual who has shown extraordinary and sustained achievement in the cause of press freedom. Originally the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award, it was renamed in 2017 to honour the veteran journalist and former CPJ board member who died in late 2016.

The 27th Annual International Press Freedom Awards Dinner takes place on November 15, 2017 in New York. The dinner will be hosted by <u>Christiane Amanpour</u>, chief international correspondent for CNN and CPJ senior advisor. The 2017 dinner chairman is <u>David Rhodes</u>, president of CBS News.