

# 2014 African Legal Awards shortlist announced

The shortlist has been announced for this year's African Legal Awards. The awards ceremony will take place on Friday, 31 October at The Wanderers Club in Johannesburg.



Key awards include International Law Firm of the Year, African Law Firm of the Year, General Counsel of the Year and Legal Department of the Year. The evening will culminate in the announcement of the winner of the Achievement Award, which is chosen by CLASA and last year went to Judge Albert Louis Sachs, the prominent former anti-apartheid campaigner who went on to be one of the founding members of South Africa's Constitutional Court.

## 2014 African Legal Awards shortlist

# Corporate Lawyers Association of South Africa (CLASA) Achievement Award - Sponsored by ENSafrica

To be announced on the night

International Law Firm of the Year - Sponsored by Chadwick Nott

- · Allen & Overy
- Baker & McKenzie
- Eversheds
- Norton Rose Fulbright
- · White & Case

#### African Law Firm of the Year

- · Aluko & Oyebode, Nigeria
- Anjarwalla & Khanna, Kenya
- Bowman Gilfillan, South Africa
- DLA Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr, South Africa
- Hamilton Harrison & Mathews, Kenya
- Webber Wentzel, South Africa

#### General Counsel of the Year - Sponsored by Eversheds

• Bruce Campbell, GE Africa

- · Kevin Lester, Anglo American
- Kurt Drieselmann, Aspen Pharmacare
- Luche Joubert, British American Tobacco
- Madeleine Truter, Growthpoint Properties
- · Mark Stafford, Life Healthcare Group

#### Legal Department of the Year - large team

- Anglo American
- Aspen Pharmacare
- · First National Bank
- GE Africa
- MultiChoice Africa regulatory affairs team
- Siemens

#### Legal Department of the Year - small team - Sponsored by Whipping the Cat

- AFGRI
- · Absa Corporate and Investment Banking Africa and regulatory legal team
- Eskom construction team
- · Life Healthcare Group

#### Legal Counsel of the Year

- Bridget van der Bijl, Anglo American
- Gabriela Palacios-Flusk, Eskom Holdings
- · Grace Muthoni Mwenda, County Assembly of Laikipia, Kenya
- Vickie Govender, Eskom Holdings
- · Winilie Madonsela, Eskom Holdings

#### Innovation Award - Sponsored by LexisNexis

- AFGRI
- Bowman Gilfillan
- Ride-Africa Legal Aid Services Department Project
- · Whipping The Cat

#### **CSR Award**

- AFGRI
- Bowman Gilfillan
- Clifford Chance
- Gabinete Legal de Moçambique/PLMJ
- Hogan Lovells
- Miranda Correia Amendoeira/ Solege
- Webber Wentzel
- Werksmans

#### **Diversity Initiative of the Year**

- Ride-Africa Legal Aid Services Department Project
- Van Rensburg Attorneys
- Werksmans

#### M&A Team of the Year - Sponsored by without prejudice

- Allen & Overy
- Aluko & Oyebode
- Bowman Gilfillan
- DLA Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr
- Fasken Martineau
- Gabinete Legal Moçambique/PLMJ
- Norton Rose Fulbright
- Webber Wentzel

#### Banking, Finance and Restructuring Team of the Year

- Allen & Overy
- · Aluko & Oyebode
- Bowman Gilfillan
- Herbert Smith Freehills
- Linklaters
- Norton Rose Fulbright
- Webber Wentzel
- Werksmans

#### Competition and Regulatory Team of the Year

- Aluko & Oyebode
- Baker & Mckenzie
- Bowman Gilfillan
- Webber Wentzel
- · White & Case

#### Litigation and Dispute Resolution Team of the Year

- Akin Gump
- Allen & Overy
- DLA Piper
- Eversheds
- Hogan Lovells
- Norton Rose Fulbright
- Webber Wentzel
- · White & Case

#### **Energy and Natural Resources Team of the Year**

- Allen & Overy
- Baker & McKenzie
- Bracewell & Giuliani
- DLA Piper
- Herbert Smith Freehills
- Norton Rose Fulbright
- Webber Wentzel
- · Winston & Strawn

#### **TMT** Team of the Year

- · Allen & Overy
- Bowman Gilfillan
- ENSafrica
- Mayer Brown
- Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
- Webber Wentzel
- Werksmans

#### **Commercial Team of the Year**

- Bowman Gilfillan
- Gabinete Legal Moçambique /PLMJ
- Herbert Smith Freehills
- · Slaughter and May
- Webber Wentzel
- Werksmans

#### **Property and Construction Team of the Year**

- Bowman Gilfillan
- DLA Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr
- ENSafrica
- Hogan Lovells
- · White & Case

### Transportation and Infrastructure Team of the Year

- Eversheds
- Herbert Smith Freehills
- Norton Rose Fulbright
- Webber Wentzel

For more info, go to www.africanlegalawards.com.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com