

Graduates honoured at JB Marks Education Trust Funds Awards

Demonstrating academic excellence and leadership in their fields of study, seven top graduates from previously disadvantaged backgrounds were honoured at the recent 4th JB Marks Educational Trust Fund at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg.

These awards are aimed at celebrating and encouraging students from under privileged backgrounds, who have been granted a bursary by the trust fund. The awards recognize the hard work and commitment shown by the students towards their studies throughout the year even during intense periods.

The 2013 JB Marks awards were awarded to:

| • Jabulani Mooa from Witbank, was honoured with two awards being the Most Consistent Award, for his consistent results |
|--|
| throughout his course as well as the Course Specific Award for maintaining a minimum average mark of 75% in a subject |
| He received seven distinctions throughout his Bachelor of Sciences in Computer Science course. |

- Makhotso Letsie from Maseru, Lesotho received 16 distinctions throughout her course was awarded with a Merit Award which is granted to the top three learners that have achieved outstanding results as well as the Course Specific Award in Humanities.
- Thabiso Rantsane was also honoured twice for receiving nine distinctions throughout his course being a Merit and Course Specific Award. Thabiso is from the Vaal completed his B-Tech in Internal Auditing at the Vaal University of Technology.
- Adelinah Moqhali from Carletonville received a Merit Award for her B-Tech in Human Resource Management at the University of Johannesburg. Adelinah received nine distinctions throughout her course.
- Mpumelelo Majola from uMzimkhulu, Kwa-Zulu Natal took home a Course Specific Award for receiving six distinctions throughout his Electrical Engineering course.
- Bokang Senatla from Potchefstroom, North West was also given a Course Specific award for receiving five distinctions throughout his Agricultural Management course.
- Dineo Hlone from Johannesburg, also took a Course Specific Award home for receiving three distinctions throughout her Industrial Psychology course.

The Leadership of the Year Award (Alumni) was awarded to Tebogo Selekolo for consistency in contributing to the enrichment of the community. Selekolo is a professional microbiologist and technical assessor and is auditing big companies in Ghana, Kenya, Botswana, Swaziland, Uganda, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Seychelles, Namibia and other big companies in South Africa.

South African National Accreditation System (SANAS) honoured Selekolo with Recognition Assessor Award in 2012 as the first young black man for the contribution, commitment, approachability, helpfulness, team work and professionalism when conducting audits and representing SANAS at all times across the continent.

The trust fund was established by the National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) 17 years ago to address the need for black graduates entering the mining, energy and construction sectors.

These awards were sponsored by Mineworkers Investment Company (MIC), Mineworkers Investment Trust (MIT), Westcon, Shanduka, Primedia, Peermont, Masana and the National Union of Mineworkers (NUM).

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com