

African Fashion Week awards design talent

Africa Fashion Week drew to a glamorous close at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on Monday night, 5 July 2010, when the leading lights in the fashion industry were recognized at the second annual African Fashion Awards.



African Fashion Award hosts, Bonang and Colin Moss.

Image credit: SDR

South Africa's Black Coffee won the Designer of the Year award - Africa; and Nigerian born designer Duro Olowu was presented with the International Designer of the Year award by Mercedes Benz New York Fashion Week's organizer Fern Mallis. Both designers receive R150,000 prize money.

Marianne Fassler (South Africa) was acknowledged as having made the most outstanding contribution to fashion in Africa, whilst Nigerian's Ituen Bassi won the Emerging Designer of the Year: Africa award; with husband and wife team Bunmin Koko, also of Nigeria, winning the International Emerging Designer of the Year award.

International supermodel Sessilee Lopez won the model of the year award; whilst Grace Jones won the inaugural Miriam Makeba Style Icon of the Year Award.

The full list of winners is as follows:

- Designer of the Year Africa: Black Coffee
- Designer of the Year International: Duro Olowu
- Emerging Designer of the Year Africa: Ituen Basi

- · Contribution to Styling: Edward Enninful
- Contribution to Photography: Koto Bolofo
- Contribution to Make Up: Pat McGrath
- · Contribution to Hair: Saadique
- Model of the Year: Sessilee Lopez
- Fashion Communicator of the Year: BellaNaija.com
- R-Etailer of the Year: Africhic.com
- Miriam Makeba Style Icon of the Year Award: Grace Jones
- Male Style influencer: Michael Jackson

Somini, Rhythmic Elements and Liquid Deep.

· Lifetime Achievement Award: Yves Saint Laurent, Azzedine Alaia and Joseph Ettendgui

• Emerging Designer of the Year - International: Bunmi Koko Menswear Designer of the Year - Africa: Stiaan Louw Image credit: SDR • Menswear Designer of the Year - International: Ozwald Boateng Accessories Designer of the Year: Albertus Swanepoel

Hosted by Bonang and Colin Moss, the awards featured performances by Salaelo Selota, Naeto C, Sahsa, CrashCarBurn,

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com