🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

New categories for 10th Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards

Two new categories have been added to the 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards, one for consumer journalism and another for journalism in social media. Entries are open as of today, Tuesday, 2 August 2011, and close on 26 August 2011.

<u>Vodacom</u> chief officer of corporate affairs Portia Maurice says, "We are delighted to announce the opening of entries for the 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards. To celebrate the 10th year of the awards, we have added new judges and two new categories.

"We feel that the addition of these two categories is vital to the growth of the Awards. Consumer journalism is imperative as it provides a platform to air the rights of consumers and of course, social media has become an increasingly important part of our news landscape."

The awards aim to reward the media that have displayed outstanding reporting in 2010/2011 and celebrates a decade of excellence in journalism.

This year's judges for the awards include Ruda Landman, Tim Modise, Max du Preez and Arthur Goldstuck.

Prizes

The overall 2011 Vodacom Journalist of the Year national winner will walk away with R125 000 in prize money, as well as being given the opportunity to donate an additional R125 000 to an official charity of his/her choosing. Every regional winner will receive R7500, while each national winner will receive R15 000.

Journalists and editors nominating their Editor's Choice candidates can enter online through <u>www.vodacom.co.za/journalist</u>. Alternatively, participants can have their entries collected from their desks by Media Express, or they can be delivered in person to one of five regional Vodacom offices.

For more:

- Bizcommunity Search: Vodacom Journalist of the Year
- Official site Vodacom Journalist of the Year 2011
- Twitter Search: #VJOY OR #VJOY2011 OR "Vodacom Journalist of the Year"
- Google search: <u>Vodacom Journalist of the Year</u>

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com