

## 2006 Joburg AMASA committee announced

The Advertising Media Association of South Africa (AMASA) has announced the Johannesburg Committee for 2006-2007, voted in by more than 120 industry members at the recent AGM held at the JSE.



"The strong turnout was gratifying," says AMASA chairman Rob Smuts, "as was the enthusiastic interest shown by the media and advertising industry as to who would best represent them at AMASA. There are many new faces on the committee and I look forward to another energetic and impactful year."

Rob expressed sincere thanks to past AMASA chairperson of three years, Karen Bailey of Cinevation, for her continued dedication to the committee, out-going vice chairperson Kevin Kirby of ComutaNet for his invaluable contribution over several years, Brad Aigner of Universal McCann for dedication to - and the success of - the Roger Garlick Award, and Sue Walker of Radmark, for ten inspirational years serving AMASA. It was under Sue's direction that the Roger Garlick Awards and AMASA website were founded.

"There are a number of committed people who care a great deal about our industry," says Walker, ex-committee member, and past chairman of AMASA. "Incredible work has been done over the past ten years, by a team of people who give unselfishly of their time, in the constant pursuit of raising the standard of education in the advertising media industry. This is a thanks to all those passionate committee members I've worked with over this time."

The members of Johannesburg's 2006 AMASA Committee are:

- Rob Smuts, managing director, RMS Media finance and communication
- Gill Randall, joint managing director, NAB education: University of Johannesburg
- Brad Aigner, managing director, Universal McCann Roger Garlick and workshop
- · Jedd Cokayne, media strategist, JWT website management
- Donald Liphoko, Inroads Advertising workshop
- · Andrew Kramer, managing director, The Letter Corporation & Forecourt Media monthly meetings
- · Andrew Maluleka, media strategist, SABC Radio monthly meetings
- · Bonita Carr, client service, Home Channel fundraising

- Leon Jansen, media director, Joe Public membership
- Lyn Jones, marketing services, Clear Channel membership and workshop
- Melanie Walter, media director, Starcom education: AAA
- Milly-Jo Halim, national sales manager, Daily Sun fundraising

The initial meeting of the new committee took place on Monday 24 April 2006 where the directors and portfolio heads were elected. Smuts was unanimously voted chairman for a second year and Aigner was elected Vice-chairman.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com